Published on February 19, 2014 | by Danil Boparai


CSM alumni flood Designs of The Year nominations

Four CSM graphic design alumni were nominated for their design of a book that explores the work of Mathias Augustyniak and Michael Amzalag.

Four CSM graphic design alumni were nominated for their design of a book that explores the work of Mathias Augustyniak and Michael Amzalag. [Inez&Vinoodh]

This year’s Designs of the Year award nominations include ten CSM members of staff and alumni in the Graphics, Product, Digital and Fashion categories.

In the Graphics category BA Fashion alumnus Stephen Jones – who was nominated for his cult fashion periodical A Magazine – is up against graphic design alumnus David Lane – proposed for his food culture journal The Gourmand.

Graphic design alumni Paul Neale, Huw Morgan, Robbie Mahoney and Stephanie Curran have been nominated for their design of the large format book M to M of M/M (Paris), which explores the work of French graphic designers.

MA Fashion graduate Sadie Williams has been nominated alongside the likes of Rick Owens and Miuccia Prada for her 2013 graduation collection Totemic. The collection consists of biker–inspired dresses with rigid 3D-printed materials.

Wider audience

Williams told ALN: “I’m completely amazed, proud and grateful to be included alongside such incredible talent for the Fashion category of the award. I aim to create work that people will enjoy and hopefully find exciting, so this is an amazing opportunity to introduce my designs to a much wider audience.”

MA Communication Design graduate Anisha Peplinski and BA Product Design graduate Oscar Lhermitte were also nominated. The duo co-founded Sidekick Creatives, a group that helps clients who are looking to set up crowdfunding campaigns.

When asked about the nomination, Peplinski and Lhermitte said: “We’re incredibly proud to have been nominated alongside such brilliant peers. As a collective of seven people who only started out in 2013, it’s a great start.”

The Pet Lamp, a project by product design graduate Alvaro Catalán de Ocón, has been nominated in the product category and features hand woven lamps made from strips of discarded plastic bottles.


The work is selected by various internationally respected design experts, who are invited to nominate up to five projects that represent the best or most interesting designs produced or launched in the past year.

After the winners of each category are chosen, an overall winning design is selected.

Last year the Government Digital Service won the award for their overhaul of all the British Government webpages into one domain, Previous winners include Shepard Fairey, for his Barack Obama Hope posters and Apple’s Sir Jonathan Ive, who was involved in designing the iPod, iMac, iPhone and iPad.

The Designs of the Year award is held annually at the Design Museum, which will display all the chosen work in an exhibition from March 26 2014.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑